Skip to content

Flo.

May 30, 2009

A small sweater coat for cool nights and chilly days….. my first knitting pattern is
now available on Ravelry! I tried to keep the pattern straightforward like the kimono and sundress patterns, but it is really a challenge for me to distill knitting into words. Hopefully I was successful and knitters will find the pattern a simple, gratifying knit.

Like my sewing creations, this little coat started as a request from my sister. And as Floria grew, another was requested…. pretty soon the boys each wanted one. And now, the neighbors’ kids want ‘em!

** I updated the pattern size info as well as added a bit more info.

If you are a knitter who would like this pattern, but you’re not on Ravelry, please feel free to email me at afinlarc at yahoo dot com.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. erin permalink
    May 30, 2009 11:08 pm

    If only it was crocheted. =( I have been wanting to make that jacket since you first posted it, but I cant knit to save my life!

    • habitual permalink*
      May 31, 2009 8:31 pm

      I’ve been meaning to get back on the crochet horse. I’ve not done it in years and years…. I wonder if it’s easy to pick back up?

  2. heather permalink
    May 31, 2009 9:22 am

    Yea!

  3. May 31, 2009 11:02 am

    absolutely gorgeous!!

    • habitual permalink*
      May 31, 2009 8:33 pm

      Thank you so much… I’ve been very nervous about releasing it, and finally just said what the hell?

  4. lizh permalink
    June 1, 2009 8:31 am

    I love this pattern! Thanks for making available on Ravelry! I’m heading over to purchase but I have one question first!

    How generous is your sizing?

    My son is at the top of your size range right now and I would love to make it for him for this fall. Lengthening it wouldn’t be a problem for me, but I don’t know if I could successfully make it larger overall. But, if the 7/8 is generously sized, he’d be fine. What do you think?

  5. habitual permalink*
    June 1, 2009 12:57 pm

    Well, the sizing was tricky, because my sister’s kids are tiny. But the 8 year old is “normal”…lol… I personally feel the pattern is sized generously, enough for 2 seasons of wear. But maybe your son will only get the 1 year out of it.

    If you do increase the size, remember it is a bulky yarn, so 2 stitches (one on each end) will increase the pattern a full inch. The hood and sleeves are easy to improvise/fill in. And please feel free to email me any questions. The pattern does have chest measurements on it (I’m at work, but I will look it up when I get home).

  6. June 2, 2009 3:16 am

    gorgeous…

  7. lizh permalink
    June 2, 2009 12:24 pm

    I may have more questions once I get the pattern, but for now it sounds like it will work out fine. Such a yummy sweater – I want one for me too! Thanks.

  8. June 4, 2009 4:17 am

    beautiful, those colours are so good together, and that button!

  9. June 4, 2009 12:14 pm

    That is beautiful..one of these days I will learn to knit. Your designs are so lovely!

  10. June 5, 2009 6:59 am

    I love your color choices! what a great pattern…

  11. June 18, 2009 4:06 pm

    I just love your work.

  12. June 21, 2009 5:48 am

    where are you?? guess you are on holidays, enjoy summer

  13. habitual permalink*
    June 21, 2009 8:48 am

    I’m here… a little lost and overwhelmed….

  14. June 22, 2009 2:11 pm

    Are you ok??? Miss seeing you around here! Sorry that you’re feeling overwhelmed and hope you feel better soon. xxx

  15. June 23, 2009 8:37 am

    Hoping all is well- miss you.

  16. July 8, 2009 2:27 am

    That’s such a beautiful pattern. Moss stitch is my fave and those colours are so cute together. What size does it go up to?

  17. habitual permalink*
    July 8, 2009 6:20 pm

    The pattern goes up to a youth 7/8 years.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

