Skip to content

Updated Kimono Pattern.

July 14, 2008

Edit: There was an error on the math of the expanded sizes….so, the pattern has been updated again as of 16 July, 2008. Sorry for the confusion!

The Simple Kimono Wrap (version 2) is officially updated.

The pattern now includes:

  • Expanded sizing up to a Youth 8.
  • Measurements in cm as well as inches.
  • Added photos & notes of various kimonos, emphasizing the neck area.
  • An entire page devoted to the binding.

I hope this makes it easier for everyone. As always, let me know if you have any difficulty with the pattern. Please add your photos to the Simple Kimono Wrap Flickr group.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 8:14 am

    That is so very kind of you to share your pattern with us. I can’t wait to make a few. Thank you.

  2. Sara permalink
    July 15, 2008 9:09 am

    Thanks for the updated kimono. I can’t wait to make my first one!

  3. Sarah permalink
    July 15, 2008 9:48 am

    Thanks so much for sharing … I know a little girl that’s going to be so happy to get one of these.

  4. July 15, 2008 10:33 am

    Thank you so much for posting the larger sizes! I have made 6 kimonos so far! I am addicted and they are getting rave reviews with my family! My son (who is 3) has been begging for a train kimono – so with the larger sizes now – that is tonight’s project! I think the ‘Sara(h)s’ in this group like the kimono – three of us in a row! :)

  5. habitual permalink*
    July 15, 2008 12:20 pm

    Look at all the Sarahs! Lol……

    Don’t forget to post photos in the Flickr group!

  6. July 15, 2008 9:20 pm

    Oh I just love seeing Squidge’s little kimono! Great fabric choice (again) and love the packaging.

  7. July 16, 2008 1:44 am

    oh, goodie!
    [gonna get me some more of that]

  8. July 17, 2008 8:02 am

    What a beautiful pattern! I look forward to making one for my daughter. I’m sure she’ll love it! Thank you for sharing it. :)

  9. July 17, 2008 8:12 am

    Thank you for the new tutorial. I made one in for my 3 year old by guessing the dimensions and it turned out OK but now I have proper measurements I can try again! Thank you..

  10. habitual permalink*
    July 17, 2008 8:13 am

    You’re welcome, feel free to email me if you have any questions.

    And don’t forget to post your finished kimonos in the Flickr group! ;)

  11. July 17, 2008 10:40 am

    that is really cool! i’m going to have to try and download it via high speed internet since i’ve still got dial up at home.
    i can’t wait to make a few. I love the ones you’ve made!
    thanks for the tute!

  12. habitual permalink*
    July 17, 2008 10:43 am

    You’re welcome! The file is about 3.2MB, if you have trouble, I can also email it to you.

  13. July 17, 2008 4:09 pm

    it looks great! now i just need a kid to dress.. :)

  14. July 21, 2008 2:28 pm

    just lovely….

  15. jen permalink
    August 27, 2008 10:20 pm

    it’s great that you put the time into perfecting this tutorial. i thought it was very user friendly and easy to understand. like i said before, it is so much better than the martha stewart kimono pattern. Here’s the link for her pattern: i’ve already made your kimono and have posted it to the group (mine is the orange one). Thanks again!

  16. Kori permalink
    February 7, 2009 4:32 pm

    I’m trying to download the pattern, but I’m getting an error: 404: File not Found.

  17. Amy Friend permalink
    March 5, 2009 3:12 pm

    I just finished making one of your kimonos. Thank you so much for sharing the pattern.
    http://duringquiettime.blogspot.com/

  18. Sarah permalink
    August 30, 2010 2:56 pm

    I made this for my daughter’s first birthday! Here is a link to the picture: http://www.flickr.com/photos/48392587@N08/4942916740/in/pool-816319@N21/

  19. October 19, 2010 4:51 am

    Hi,

    Thank you for sharing your lovely pattern.
    I made a kimono for my daughter. Here is the link: http://stekelbees.blogspot.com/2010/10/kimono.html

Trackbacks

  1. not much going on « sasikirana handmade
  2. habitual kimono « sasikirana handmade
  3. Baby Kimono « ginnymae

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

