Skip to content

Simple Kimono Wrap

June 20, 2008

The tutorial is up! I rushed a bit, but I gave it my best shot. Please note, that it’s written in such a way as to assume knowledge of basic pattern terminology as well as things like how to make your own binding. Feel free to email me if you would like a copy, take a look at it and leave me a comment if anything is unclear or if you need a little more help (I have no problem revising it and uploading revisions over time). I’ve never written tutorials before, and it’s harder than I thought!

Enjoy this fun little project, it’s really quick and easy. And be sure to post or email me photos if you make one of your own! And I warn you, they are addictive…..

Edit: I recommend making a fabric pattern out of scrap or muslin. Then you can reuse it in the future. Also, it will help you to practice/visualize the kimono and how it wraps/ties.

Once you make a Kimono Wrap, please check out the Flickr Group and share your creations!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2008 10:05 pm

    oh, this is going to be fun. i am going to take a look. and attempt it. very soon. thank you!

  2. habitual permalink*
    June 20, 2008 10:06 pm

    Yay! Let me know if it’s too vague or if it doesn’t make sense….lol….

  3. June 20, 2008 10:22 pm

    Thanks! I’m definitely going to give it a go.

  4. June 21, 2008 12:23 am

    Ooo I’m going to try and make one tomorrow. Yahoo!

  5. knittinginpink permalink
    June 21, 2008 8:07 am

    Thank you so much for this tutorial. I really look forward to making my own. After reading through the pattern I have a couple questions for you. Do you have any idea as to approximately how much yardage you would need for each or some sizes? Are we looking at a yard, half yard?
    My second question is this, I don’t understand how the ties work. You put it ties at the waist and than ties at the ends of the neck/front binding? I checked through some pictures and I can’t figure it out! Thank you again for your wonderful tutorial.

  6. habitual permalink*
    June 21, 2008 8:23 am

    Thank you knittinginpink –

    Yardage, that would help! Lol….The 0-6 months needs about 3/4 yard and the 2T needs about 1 1/2 yards. However, if you are using patterned fabric, it depends on the repeat. If you are buying fabric, I would allow extra yardage to place the pattern where you want.

    The ties work thus:

    You will have one under EACH armpit. One on the inside and one on the outside. Then you will leave about 10″ at each end of the tie/binding that finishes the neck.

  7. June 21, 2008 5:50 pm

    Yay! Thank you. The only thing I noticed is that there is not an adult’s size :-)

  8. habitual permalink*
    June 21, 2008 5:52 pm

    Haha – first I’m going to do a 5-10 year old range and then I am going to do adult…although, I found when I made mine that adult was really hard (because of the boob issue!). And fit can’t just be “boxy”….so, adult may never happen…..;)

  9. June 21, 2008 6:12 pm

    firstly, lovely product, thanks for the opp. to make our own.
    is there any chance you’d email me the file? i’m having issues downloading – i can see it, but it saves an empty file.
    xx

  10. habitual permalink*
    June 21, 2008 6:18 pm

    Oh no – I’m so sorry. I just checked the file and it seems to be ok….it is a big file (almost 2 MB) because it is so image heavy. You have to give it a few seconds upon opening for the images to load.

  11. June 23, 2008 10:26 am

    thanks so much for the tutorial. i cannot wait to start making my own kimono. you are very kind to share your knowledge and techniques with everyone.

  12. June 24, 2008 2:20 pm

    Thank you Amy for sharing this pattern. I finished it last night, and it was so easy to follow. My girl wore it to her art class and two people said how much they liked it. See you have to set up a little shop for them. Thank you again. I will email a photo of the end result.

  13. habitual permalink*
    June 25, 2008 9:16 am

    Lisa, it was adorable!

  14. May permalink
    June 27, 2008 3:19 am

    That looks like a pattern I have but your is so much easier. I am definitely going to give this a go. Thanks for sharing the pattern.

    I do have a request if it is possible, can you include measurements for long sleeved versions? Thanks so much!

  15. hsp permalink
    June 27, 2008 1:45 pm

    I’m so glad this is up, I was hoping I would be able to make a few for friends that are having babies in August.

  16. July 6, 2008 10:18 pm

    I’ve admired the kimono tops you’ve made and I’m so happy to see the tutorial – it looks like a pattern I can follow! I plan to make my daughter one this week. Thank you for sharing!

  17. habitual permalink*
    July 7, 2008 7:45 am

    You’re welcome! Have fun, and post pictures if you want! :)

  18. Sarah permalink
    July 13, 2008 8:43 am

    What a fantastic pattern. Thank you so much for letting everyone enjoy this. I will make this soon for my little girl, hopefully it turns out well. I also would love to know the measurements for a long sleeved version too.

  19. habitual permalink*
    July 13, 2008 9:01 am

    You’re welcome!

    I am posting an updated / expanded tutorial soon that runs from 0-6 months to size 8! It will also have a bit more info on the binding.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

